A vision board to Enrich! a phase of life

Denise D’Elia
3 min readMar 17, 2023

--

My Enrich!ed vision board

I was catching up over lunch in London with a girlfriend last week and sharing our previous adventures. We talked about our professional lives and commented on how difficult it is to find a stable professional opportunity in the middle of your fifths. Many surveys show that, for whatever reason, more experienced professionals do not get appropriate job offers to their specific competencies or seniority from the job market. A believe that new beginnings are almost inevitable, with all it entangles. Many of us may enjoy change and new challenges, but many may not and are struggling to cope and move on to new horizons.

These conversations have deep routing for our generation, as we are creating a blueprint for the next generation to live longer, hopefully, purposeful lives. Never before has humanity achieved living 30 years more than the previous generations, and we are looking to understand how to manage this new opportunity. This new stage in life is what I call Enrich! And the reason is that after many years of studying to get a degree and working hard to gain a fulfilling career while raising a happy family, the time has come for us to pause our watches, and make a reset about what is next and decide how we can Enrich! in the meaning of purpose for another couple of decades. Yes, you read that correctly; we want to fill in decades with meaning, with the desire to create a legacy , which I see as the real challenge awaiting many of us. Today many hope running to the therapist is the correct solution for the mental doubts and an ever-unstoppable flow of thoughts. Maybe they are correct if that is what works for them, for me, it is a lack of purpose and fulfilment at a later stage that is driving this sense of deficiency in our daily lives. There isn’t a quick fix, no therapist and no medicine, just a deep sound searching about purpose with in ourself or in conjunction with our closets friends, family and community.

While chatting, we started to sync up on the challenges we constantly face during our daily working routine. I started my company, www.stolesbybella.com, which is about sustainable bamboo stoles and Italian artistry. Thanks to this new phase of my life, I am beginning to engage ever further with green tech topics and the online e-commerce space. Have I been making tons of profit? No, but indeed I have been gaining tons of new knowledge, which will help me become a purposeful and successful entrepreneur. There are many steps that I need to learn to run a successful venture, but just yesterday, I started to wear shoes by branding them with my LOGO, Stoles by Bella. It was super exciting, and it gives me the confidence to share with you how the brand personalization experience came naturally while browsing around a London high street. Looking one year back, I would not even see the opportunity; today, I saw it and made it happen in a single week! and hopefully make money from this initiative and future imminent ones.

The point that I am making is that the more we stay engaged and open to new learnings, the more we can keep on innovating ourselves, challenging the boundaries of precedent experiences, and staying vigil with what is important to us; we will create an Enrich!ed phase of ourselves that we have only dreamed about. I am trying, with sound planning, and it is giving promising results. Then, create your vision board, what ever is your fling. Pro bono? E-commerce? Learn a new language? Do not be an ostrich, reach out and let’s Enrich! together.

--

--

Denise D’Elia

I want to keep on Enrich!ing myself by constantly adding new skills and experiences. Founder of www.mybamboostory.com